Osun APC Unveils Committee for Defection Ceremony of Dotun Babayemi and Akin Ogunbiyi

The Osun State Chapter of the All Progressives Congress (APC) has announced the formation of a committee tasked with organizing an official defection ceremony for Mr. Dotun Babayemi and Dr. Akin Ogunbiyi, along with their supporters.

Ogunbiyi, who contested and lost the 2018 governorship ticket of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) to Senator Ademola Adeleke, had since defected to the APC after accusing the PDP’s National Working Committee of bias during the 2022 governorship ticket race.

Babayemi, on the other hand, emerged as the factional candidate of the PDP in a parallel governorship primary. Although he has not formally announced his defection from the PDP, the unveiling of the defection committee suggests an imminent move.

The 12-member defection committee, chaired by Alhaji Mayegun Debo Badru, includes notable APC chieftains and party officials. They are tasked with organizing a seamless defection exercise for Babayemi, Ogunbiyi, and their thousands of supporters across the state.

Other members of the committee include Mr. Bello Atanda, Mr. Sunday Akere, Mr. Delani Ajanaku, Mr. Femi Kujembola, Lord Monyeh, Mr. Richard Tinubu, Mr. Damola Abdulsalam, Alhaja Fauziat Olaniyan, Alhaja Kudirat Fakokunde, Mr. Rasheed Adeniji, Sakirat Adeoye, and Mr. Olubisi Oladosu.

The committee has been granted the authority to determine the modalities for the defection ceremony, which is expected to take place at a convenient date but not later than next week.

Kindly share this story: