Olubadan of Ibadanland, Oba Lekan Balogun, Passes Away at 81

The Olubadan of Ibadanland, Oba Lekan Balogun, Alli Okunmade II, has passed away at the age of 81. His demise was confirmed on Thursday, March 14, 2024. The revered monarch’s remains will be laid to rest today, Friday, March 15, 2024, in Ibadan, the capital of Oyo State, in accordance with Islamic rites.

The Olubadan title, steeped in tradition, has historically alternated between the  Olubadan line (civil line) and the Balogun line (military line). Oba Lekan Balogun, during his two-year reign, contributed to the rich tapestry of Ibadan’s cultural heritage.

While Oba Balogun’s reign was relatively short, it is not the briefest in the annals of Olubadan history. According to records compiled by the Olubadan website, Olubadan.com, several predecessors held the title for shorter durations:

1. Olubadan Oyetunde I Eleta reigned for just one month in November 1946.
2. Olubadan Memudu Alli Iwo Gbenla’s reign lasted three months in 1942.
3. Olubadan Fagbinrin Akere II Oritamerin ruled for six months in 1946.
4. Oba Yesufu Kobiowu Oranyan’s reign also lasted six months.
5. Baale Oderinlo Opeagbe Idiomo/Kure held the title for one year between 1850 and 1851.
6. Ba’ale Ibikunle’s reign spanned one year between 1864 and 1865.
7. Baale Orowusi (Awarun) Kobomoje’s tenure lasted one year from 1870 to 1871.
8. Olubadan Akintunde Bioku Oleyo, Oranyan, ruled for one year between 1947 and 1948.
9. Oba Gbadamosi Akanbi Adebimpe Odinjo’s reign lasted from 1976 to 1977.
10. Basorun Ogumola Mapo served for two years between 1865 and 1867.

In contrast, the longest-serving Olubadan is Olubadan Okunola Abaasi Alesinloye Isale Ijebu, who ruled for an impressive 16 years, from 1930 to 1946.

As Ibadan bids farewell to Oba Lekan Balogun, his legacy will endure through the pages of history, joining the ranks of those who have contributed to the rich heritage of Ibadanland.

Kindly share this story: