Five Commissioners Resign from Rivers State Executive Council Amid Political Turmoil

Five commissioners loyal to the Minister of the Federal Capital Territory, Nyesom Wike, have resigned from Governor Siminalayi Fubara’s cabinet in Rivers State. The commissioners are Prof. Chinedu Mmom (Education), Dr. Gift Worlu (Housing), Austen Ben-Chioma (Environment), Inime Aguma (Social Welfare), and Jacobson Nbina (Transport). Their resignations come in the wake of a political crisis and follow accusations by Fubara against his predecessor, Wike, of leaving a significant debt burden.

The resignations were formalized through letters addressed to the governor via the Secretary to the State Government, Dr. Tammy Danagogo, all dated May 15, 2024.

Prof. Chinedu Mmom, in his resignation letter, cited a toxic work environment and loss of trust among colleagues as reasons for his departure. He expressed that the atmosphere no longer supported efficient service delivery in the education sector.

Dr. Gift Worlu mentioned the toxic atmosphere and the smoldering arbitrariness of decisions within the cabinet as key factors for his resignation. He also referred to attempts to merge executive and legislative functions in the state, which he found unacceptable.

Austen Ben-Chioma, citing the ongoing political crisis in Rivers State and personal reasons, also tendered his resignation. He acknowledged the privilege of serving but felt compelled to step down due to the prevailing political unrest.

Jacobson Nbina highlighted the privilege of serving as the Commissioner for Transport but decided to resign due to the lack of trust and apathy caused by the political turmoil. He thanked President Bola Tinubu for his intervention in the state’s crisis.

Inime Aguma mentioned an inconducive working environment and a lack of room for professional development as her reasons for resigning. She expressed her appreciation for the opportunity to serve despite the challenging conditions.

These resignations add to the previous departures of the former Attorney-General and Commissioner for Justice, Prof. Zacchaeus Adangor, and the former Commissioner for Finance, Isaac Kamalu, who resigned following their redeployment to less significant ministries by Governor Fubara.


Kindly share this story: