Six Enugu State Labour Party Lawmakers Defect to PDP, Citing Internal Division

Six members of the Enugu State House of Assembly, representing the Labour Party, have officially defected to the state chapter of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP). The lawmakers made their defections known during the plenary session held on Thursday at the Assembly Legislative Complex in Enugu. The Speaker of the House, Uche Ugwu, read a letter announcing their decision to switch parties.

The defected lawmakers are Ejike Eze (Igbo-Eze North 1), Johnson Ugwu (Enugu North), Princess Ugwu (Enugu South Rural), Pius Ezeugwu (Nsukka West), Amuka Williams (Igbo-Etiti East), and Osita Eze (Oji River). In their letter, they cited the presence of irreconcilable divisions and ongoing crises within the Labour Party at both the national and state levels as reasons for their defection.

According to the lawmakers, the Labour Party, once considered a beacon of hope for progressive ideas, has unfortunately become mired in internal conflicts and legal battles, hindering its ability to effectively serve the interests of the people. They expressed optimism that joining the PDP would provide them with a platform to serve their constituents more effectively and committedly.

The defections come amidst allegations of a takeover of the Labour Party’s administration by its Board of Trustees, which has further exacerbated internal strife within the party. The National Chairman, Julius Abure, was re-elected during the party’s national convention held in Nnewi, Anambra State, on Wednesday, alongside all members of the National Working Committee.

Kindly share this story: