Hanson and Thomas Return to Scotland Squad for European Championship Qualifiers

Scotland’s women’s national team has welcomed back forwards Kirsty Hanson and Martha Thomas into the squad for the upcoming Women’s European Championship qualifiers against Israel in May and June.

Aston Villa’s Hanson and Tottenham Hotspur’s Thomas make their return to the squad alongside Rangers winger Rachel McLauchlan, who has recovered from injury.

However, there are notable omissions from the squad, with players like Glasgow City’s Fiona Brown and Lauren Davidson, Manchester City goalkeeper Sandy MacIver, and Celtic playmaker Amy Gallacher not featuring in Pedro Martinez Losa’s lineup.

Additionally, Hibernian’s Leah Eddie, Glasgow City’s Hayley Lauder, and AC Milan’s Christy Grimshaw are also left out. This trio had withdrawn from the previous camp and were replaced by Brogan Hay, Kelly Clark, and Christie Murray. While Hay and Clark retain their spots in the squad, Murray, who featured against Serbia, has not been included.

Scotland is set to face Israel on May 31 at Hampden Park before traveling to the BSC Stadium in Budaors, Hungary, for their next encounter on June 4. These matches are crucial as Scotland continues its quest for qualification for the finals in Switzerland next summer.

The team began their qualification campaign with a 0-0 draw against Serbia in Leskovac, followed by a 1-0 victory against Slovakia at Hampden, courtesy of Sophie Howard’s header. With four points, Scotland shares the top spot in Group B2 with Serbia, while Israel has suffered defeats in both their qualifying matches so far.

The squad for the upcoming fixtures includes:

  • Jenna Clark (Liverpool)
  • Kelly Clark (Celtic)
  • Chelsea Cornet (Rangers)
  • Rachel Corsie (Aston Villa)
  • Eartha Cumings (Rosengard)
  • Erin Cuthbert (Chelsea)
  • Nicola Docherty (Rangers)
  • Claire Emslie (Angel City)
  • Lisa Evans (Bristol City)
  • Sarah Ewens (Rangers)
  • Jenna Fife (Rangers)
  • Lee Gibson (Glasgow City)
  • Kirsty Hanson (Aston Villa)
  • Brogan Hay (Rangers)
  • Sophie Howard (Leicester City)
  • Kirsty Howat (Rangers)
  • Sam Kerr (Bayern)
  • Rachel McLauchlan (Rangers)
  • Jamie-Lee Napier (Bristol City)
  • Amy Rodgers (Bristol City)
  • Jane Ross (Rangers)
  • Kirsty Smith (West Ham United)
  • Martha Thomas (Tottenham Hotspur)
Kindly share this story: